Starting uni…

Hello!

Welcome back everyone! How are you all doing? I hope you are having a great day/evening and things are going well. A while back I mentioned starting a university series and at last I am finally getting around to starting it. I am so sorry it has taken forever for me to start the series but I have just been so busy with things. The past month as all just being about settling in and getting used to the university lifestyle and I finally feel now I am starting to get into a routine with everything! I did plan to blog more on the weekends but I have been super busy at work and also studying and reading for assignments so I am sorry about that too! However, I am now finally getting around to it and I am so excited to be sharing me experiences with you and how I am finding uni life!

First thing, for any of you who doesn’t know, I am studying History at the University of Leicester UK. Since I was fortunate to receive and unconditional offer, meaning I didn’t need any requirements to get into the university or onto my course, I can’t really tell you much about the UCAS programme on results day and how that all works. Unfortunately I am not 100% sure on what happens but I do know if you log on to your UCAS track itΒ tells you whether the university you have firmed has accepted you before you even pick up your results in most cases but that’s about as far as my knowledge goes on that. Unfortunately I cannot help with clearing or results day anymore than that. Sorry!

I obviously did go through all the stages of applying and filling out my application form, as well as writing my personal statement so if any of you are applying to university this year or apprenticeships or even jobs let me know if you would like any tips of how I did mine and what I wrote about and I will make a blog post about that because I know how daunting it is having to write about yourself in a word limit, selling yourself and trying to select all your best abilities and attributes! It’s not easy and it is, at the end of the day, what they judge you on and make their decision based on. The only other thing to say is that once you have submitted your application then it is literally just waiting for your offers to come back through before you make a decision on where you would like to go and firm and also your insurance uni incase things don’t quite go according to plan, which I hope they do for you!

After those stages it is all about applying for Student Finance if that’s something you need (I definitely did!) and looking for accommodation if you are thinking about moving away from home. Student Finance is a great loan and support system and don’t worry about the money and paying it back, it’s not all as scary as it seems and at the end of the day you are investing in your future! In terms of accommodation, look early and apply as early as possible! Again I was lucky in the respect that when I knew where I wanted to go that I could book my accommodation straight away because my place at univeristy wasn’t subject to my A-Levels grade. This meant I could confirm my accommodation straight away and know where I was living. The only difference if you don;t recieve an unconditional is that you get a provisional offer for accommodation which then will change depending on whether you get in on results day. Basically they allocate you a space at accommodation based on your preferences which will get confirmed after your results have come through so don’t panic that you won;t have anywhere because you will!

So today I thought I would just briefly explain the whole applying procedure and a few things to think about but if you have nay questions on anything I have said then feel free to ask or you what a more detailed post on something specific then also let me know! I have a few more post planned such as what to take, what to expect, what moving day is like, freshers experience, settling into courses and lots of stuff like that but if you have any other posts you would like to see them let me know and I will do them too. Hopefully they should start to become more regular again as things are settling down now. Also let me know if you want to see a room tour because I have been thinking about filming one. So let me know if that is something you are interested in me doing and I will film that too. I was also thinking about filming a Uni Q&A as well to answer questions about uni because I know how scary it can be and daunting so leave me any questions you have for that and I will do that too.

Thank you all so much for reading and for being really patient with me whilst me schedule has been all over the place. I hope to hear from you all soon with any suggestions or questions you have and I will see you all very soon for the next post in this mini series! Bye guys!

Lizzie

5 thoughts on “Starting uni…

  1. Roosevelt Gatlin says:

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

