Graduating from Sixth form! New chapter in my life?!

Hello!

In today’s post I am going to share with you my experience of sixth form (high school) and finally leaving and graduating. I finished school just over a week ago but Thursday 30th Juneย was my graduation day and now I have finally, officially left school. This means I do get a really long summer to relax and hang out with friends but it also means I start University in September!

My time at sixth from has without a doubt been challenging. I was definitely one of those people that thought…

“Sixth form and A-levels will be so much better than GCSE’s because I will be picking what I want to do.”

To some extent this was true. I was happier now I was studying subjects that I had decided to study. For those of you who are wondering, in Year 12 I studied Mathematics, Chemistry, History and Further Mathematics (God knows what i was thinking haha!!) and in Year 13 I dropped Further Mathematics and just studied Mathematics, History and Chemistry. At the time you never listen to people when they say A-levels are so much harder than GCSE’s but believe me I can promise you they. You have to so much work and put in so much effort to get the grades you want. It is definitely all worth it in the end though!

Year 13 was in particular a lot more challenging and demanding than Year 12. You have University decisions to make; UCAS forms to fill out; the apprehension of waiting to get Uni offers is INSANE; you have decisions for retakes (well in my time of study you did, its not the same now); you have to pick your University to attend and insurance University too; you have accommodation to sort out (if you move away); applications to fill out to apply for Student finance etc. etc. the list goes on! Not mention at the start of the year you have to even decide if you’re going to Uni,or getting an apprenticeship or looking for full-time work. Honestly, the stress levels are crazy at times! On top of that it’s homework after homework, essays after essays and revision non-stop plus you may have a part time job, like I did, throughout sixth form.

I probably found Year 13 a lot harder than most. My grandma died, I have had constant arguments and conversations about uni with my parents (long story – lets just say we wasn’t on the same page and still aren’t!) You know it really had an effect on me. Some points I was so low and cry all day and didn’t want to go but I have battled through this year and it has been one of the most rewarding years of my life. The experiences and things I have gone through and still are going through has taught me so much about myself and I have grown and developed so much this year, I don’t think I would recognise that timid person that started Year 13. If any of you would like me to go into more depth about my individual struggles I have had and a more detailed account of my experiences and lives at sixth form and what to expect then just leave me a little comment below.

9 months later though, I look at back at the entire year and all the struggles I have been through and obstacles I have overcome. All the revision and work I have put in and it really is going to be sad to leave.I have spent the last 7 years at my school developing friendships and building my self -confidence and finding out who I was and now I am moving on to something completely different. ย It is going to be strange not seeing everyone every single day and all going in different directions but I have had the most amazing times and got some brilliant memories which I will keep with me forever and think I have made some friends for life too!

Although it’s sad to move on from what had been my norm for me and I am scared about the future and all that can happen and moving out and living on my own, I am also incredibly excited to be starting a new chapter in my life and going to Uni. I can’t wait to see what life has got planned for me and all the new experiences and opportunities this chapter in my life holds for me. I will never forget the past 7 years and in particularly the past two where friendships have grown stronger and closer and will always hold that close to my heart but now it’s time to see what’s going to happen next for me

I think I am going to leave this post here but leave any comments if you want any posts on UCAS, sixth form experience, A-Levels, uni applications or anything regarding any of those topics and I will be happy to help! Thanks Guys!

Lizzie X

5 thoughts on “Graduating from Sixth form! New chapter in my life?!

  1. Lizzie Grace says:

    Thank you!! I so scared and worried about it haha ๐Ÿ˜‚ and I have chosen to study History.. Heat did you chose?xx

    Like

    • thebeautydorkk says:

      I’m sure you were, it is a really stressful thing. But right now focus on having a great time in summer. History is extremely interesting! I am studying Advertising & Marketing ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. thebeautydorkk says:

    Congratulations!! I’m really happy for you. I know what that’s like, going on from high school to university. So good luck with that, and if you ever need help let me know. What have you decided to study in university?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

