Everyday makeup

Hi Everyone,

Today I thought I would share the products that I have been using for the past couple of months and love using to create a natural everyday makeup look. Most of the products selected here are drugstore and inexpensive items, however, there are a few higher end makeup products I use but I do know good drugstore alternatives for those of you who are perhaps just starting out with makeup.

First thing to say about my everyday makeup is that I don’t wear any type of foundation. This is purely because I do not like how foundation feels and sits on my skin. I definitely need to branch out and try different foundations but for everyday makeup I will skip foundation and only wear it for special occasions. I have also tried BB creams in place of foundations but have yet to find one which I get along with and feels nice on my skin.

For general concealer I use the Collection Lasting Perfection in the shade Cool Medium 2. This concealer is super inexpensive and provides great coverage at hiding those blemishes and troublesome areas.  For highlighting concealer I use the Rimmel Hide the Blemish in the shade 002 Sand. I love using this concealer for highlighting because it definitely brightens my eye under circles and makes me look more awake and lifts my eyes.

For bronzer I use the Collection Bronze Glow matt. I don’t tend to get along very well with shimmery bronzers so always tend to lean towards a matt bronzer. Again this bronzer is super inexpensive and provides a natural glow which looks like you have a nice tan.

For powder I use the Rimmel Stay Matte in 001 Transparent. I love this powder and it does a great job at ensuring my makeup stays in place all day especially in my t-zone and under my eyes which is where, if my makeup is going to smudge, it will smudge first. The powder is nice and light and doesn’t give you a really powered look, which with my skin can definitely be the case. I would definitely recommend this product, again really inexpensive and amazing at the job it does and very comparable to some higher end powders.

For contour and highlight I use the Collection Contour Kit Highlight and Sculpt. I was pleasantly surprised with this kit.This contour kit provides a natural glow to highlight the high-points of you face and the contour shade which would suit all skin types and does a good job of defining your face shape. One criticism I have with this product is it takes a lot of blending out and is at time quite difficult to blend but for the money you definitely cannot complain.

For eye makeup I always start with priming with eyelids. There is some really good eye primers on the market but recently, because I have run out, I have been using a bit of the Rimmel Hide the Blemish concealer along with some powder to act as my primer. This trick does work and is a good little hack for those of you beginning to experiment with makeup but not sure yet about splurging on an eye primer.

For eye shadow I have been reaching for the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. The pay-off quality and intensity of the eye shadows are AMAZING and super easy to blend! All the palettes by urban decay provide a lovely mix of matt and shimmery colours which can be used to create a nice natural look or be intensified to create an evening look. I would definitely recommend buying this product as it well worth the money you pay for it. Alternatively, the W7 In the Buff: Lightly Toasted palette is a good dupe for the naked 3. Due to price difference the quality and intensity is not to the same standard of the naked 3 palette and is at times harder to blend the shades out to create that seamless gradient but is definitely achievable and for the price this a great alternative to naked 3 palette especially for beginners who are just starting to experiment with eye makeup.

For eyeliner I have been using the Collection Extreme 24 hour Felt- Tip eyeliner. I was very impressed with this eyeliner.It is very inexpensive and lasts all day without smudging. It’s definitely not the easiest to apply but for the price I cannot complain.

For me, mascara makes the biggest difference and a huge difference at completing the eye makeup. For everyday use I reach for the Benefit They’re real. In my opinion, this mascara is amazing and provides a tonne of volume and length. If you don’t like clumpy mascaras though I would avoid this one and perhaps opt for the alternative I am going to talk about. The L’Oreal Faux Cils Architecte mascara I actually love. I didn’t think I was going to when I was purchasing but it gives the same overall look as the benefit mascara does but due to the wand shape and size is far less clumpy. Both of these mascaras I love and both do an amazing job at providing volume and length to the lashes and would recommend both.

My lip colour changes day to day depending on what eye shadow look I have gone. However, to complete my everyday makeup look I will switch between two products and reach for either the Rimmel Kate Moss lipstick in the shade 42 or the NYX liquid lipstick in the shade Milan.First let me say how impressed I am with both these products. Both are very long lasting and moisturising and are very well priced. The lipstick is a more of a brown nude toned whilst the NYX is definitely more pink toned and brighter. Both complete an everyday look nicely and I would recommend looking into these products.

I hope you have all enjoyed reading about the products I use everyday to create my everyday makeup look. If you are interested in any of the products I have mentioned I will leave links to them all below and I will see you in the next one!

Bye! X

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette – http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10701_10001_123932030999_-1

Benefit They’re real mascara –  https://www.benefitcosmetics.com/uk/en-gb/product/theyre-real-lengthening-mascara

Rimmel Kate Moss Lipstick shade 42 –  http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-London-Lasting-Finish-Lipstick-By-Kate-Nude-Collection_1708919/

NYX Liquid Lipstick in the shade Milan – http://www.feelunique.com/p/NYX-Soft-Matte-Lip-Cream-8ml?utm_source=GoogleBaseUK&utm_medium=gen&option=61215&gclid=CjwKEAjw-r27BRCzsNyzrMrM-j0SJACp2TiBQmJHigx5vNiZnQ_DyXv-8k5VBIIAeI1DbrdNlx_y2BoCgXDw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

L’Oreal Faux Cils Architecte – http://www.loreal-paris.fr/marques/cil_architecte_4D.aspx

Collection Extreme 24 hours Felt- Tip Eyeliner – http://www.boots.com/en/Collection-Extreme-24-Hour-Felt-Tip-Liner_1160659/

W7 in the Buff Lightly Toasted Palette – https://www.amazon.co.uk/W7-Colour-Palette-Lightly-Toasted/dp/B00OTQMHO8

Collection Contour Kit – http://www.superdrug.com/Make-Up/Face/Contouring/Collection-Contour-Kit-Contour-Kit-1/p/523101

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder – http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-Stay-Matte-Pressed-Powder_1015573/

Collection Bronze glow – http://www.boots.com/en/Collection-Bronze-Glow-Matt-Powder-Terracotta_1450667/

Rimmel Hide the Blemish concealer – http://www.superdrug.com/Rimmel/Rimmel-Hide-The-Blemish-Golden-Beige/p/425664?gclid=CjwKEAjw-r27BRCzsNyzrMrM-j0SJACp2TiBgsxNaTxtALX8AI9Ly33umfTRJVqgERwpBTSn_APLcBoCpTTw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Collection Lasting Perfection concealer – http://www.boots.com/en/Collection-Lasting-Perfection-Concealer_1693350/

6 thoughts on “Everyday makeup

Leave a Reply

