Hard times

Hey guys! I’m back with another blog post. I haven’t posted in a while because I have been down and had a series of bad days but I am back and hopefully back with some ideas to get you out of the pessimistic mindset you tend to be in whilst things aren’t going your way.

I really despise bad days. They just make me feel so low. I mean that seems obvious. I am pretty sure no one is overjoyed to have a bad day but I hate feeling sad and down. I always almost feel a lot of pressure from people to be happy and always smile. For me, at my age, it’s almost like you are judged for been sad, especially if your sadness is prolonged. After a rough couple of months, I know how that feels. When you experience prolonged sadness people always assume you are depressed but most of the time it really is not to that extent. Some days, these past months have been some of the best but the majority of them have been rough and hard to get through and in turn I have been sad and then I would always feel bad about that. So the first thing I want to say is that it is okay to be sad and it is definitely okay to be down and cry. Crying is a sign of strength to many, it shows that you can express your emotions (that is something I am definitely not the best at). I would always feel weak and vulnerable for crying but now I know it is better to cry and let it all out than keep it all bottled up inside. Don’t feel like it is not okay to be sad because it is.

I know I have a good life. I know I am blessed. I’m grateful for things I have, really, but right now in this moment in time… I’m sad..and that’s okay!

I feel like the first stage of moving of from your sadness Β is to accept that it you are sad and that it is normal. After all we are all human! We all have bad days and all have things happen to us which makes us feel down. That is completely normal and I feel once we accept that, then we can work on solving it and becoming happy again. Whether its having a day with the girls or guys, watching a movie or having a good cry, it is important to do whatever makes you feel better about being sad. Being sad is a normal emotion and you shouldn’t feel like it is wrong to feel that way. It is okay! Accepting that you are down is the first place to start when making things better for yourself.

When you’re down I almost believe it is necessary and important to take time to reflect.That doesn’t mean overthink and draw up negative conclusions. It means dedicate time to yourself and work out where things went wrong and how to solve them so you can act positively.

My top 5 things to do when I am down and want some time to myself:

  1. Take a hot bath or shower
  2. Warm drink
  3. Watch a movie
  4. Listen to music
  5. Read a book

That’s just a few! There are many ways to cheer yourself up and be positive even when things look dull. Talk to a friend, bake or even write in journal. All these things either help distract you from the problem or allow you take to time out for yourself and get away from the problems and think about your next steps.

Having a bad day is inevitable every once in while but it doesn’t have to stay that way and once you have chosen to move on and be happy there are plenty of ways to boost your spirit.

I hope this has given you some ideas on what to do when you are feeling a bit down and I will see you in the next one!

Bye X

Leave a Reply

